Cinnamon buns. Feeding Scandanavians for millennia (maybe…)

On Friday I decided to give myself a small break from work  when I was informed that a meeting I was in wasn’t relevant to me for the next hour. “You’ve got better things to do Anna.”

Yes I do; like sneaking off to the Norwegian Bakery and having a few minutes of Jane Austen, coffee and cinnamon bun. If I’m honest I wasn’t even hungry, I just felt like it was the right thing to do. So I got my treats and took a seat at the back so no-one would see me skiving off work, and it was the most blissful 40 minutes of my whole week. I might even make it a regular occurrence. It was at this point that I decided I should make some cinnamon buns myself.

I confess I googled it and went with the first recipe I found, which was on the Guardian website, so not typically Swedish, but I didn’t really have anything to compare it to so I went with it anyway. There was a bit of background about the Bun, and how different Scandanavian chefs add various signature ingredients, but I skim read this and skipped to the method to see if I had all the equipment that I needed.

So on Saturday morning I eagerly trotted off to Tesco (via the Royal Mail collection office, where my Glastonbury ticket was patiently waiting for me…) and bought the ingredients I didn’t have (cardamom pods, whole milk, a 23cm tin) and all the other ingredients which I did have but hadn’t checked for before I left house. Good preparation as per.

IMG_7507

I followed the recipe as described here, I even weighed things things! I found it pretty straightforward, though when kneading the dough you are told not to flour the surface as you don’t want to add any extra flour into the recipe. I found the dough so sticky it was like kneading flubber. I persevered, as instructed int he recipe, and let it prove for 30 minutes, but when it came to the rolling out stage I just had to add flour because it was impossible to roll out something with the texture of a clay face mask. I added just enough flour so that I could roll/ shape it and didn’t really notice any negatives in the end bun, though it’s a while since I’ve had one so I might have been very wrong!

  IMG_7508

  IMG_7513

This is how the buns looked in the tin before they were cooked before and after the second proving, and THIS is how they looked when they came out.

IMG_7514

I was so excited, it took a lot of restraint to let it cool before I tore it apart. I knew this would be the case so I made a petit one on a different tray, which cooled much faster so I was able to taste it straight away.

IMG_7521

I then did a slightly embarrassing thing, which was to arrange my buns in an attractive manner on the table with coffee purely so I could take a photo, and then afterwards informed my flatmate that she was to join me for coffee and a cinnamon bun to legitimize my actions. But she wasn’t disappointed.

They were ABSOLUTELY delicious, and I can’t wait to try them again using a different recipe. Such a fun thing to make to take somewhere to share as you can easily rip chunks off.

I felt very Swedish, although I don’t know that it would take them the best part of a day to produce them…

I would highly recommend.

Hope you’ve had a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

